California Science Center

There was an exhibit at the California Science Center that I went to see.

It was an exhibit concerning Pixar animation.

It was about Pixar animation.

These banners are pretty effective.

These banners are very enticing and effective. They got me to go.

The California Science Center is housed in an old building in Exposition Park. It was built in 1912.

The California Science Center is housed in an old building in Exposition Park. It was built in 1912 as the State Exposition Building.

I have yet to uncover who the architect was.

I have yet to uncover who the architect was.

Evidently, the facade is the only thing that remains of the original building. The building behind it was demolished.

Evidently, the facade is the only thing that remains of the original building. The building attached to the facade was demolished.

img_4549

There was a short film after you went through this door that detailed how animation is now done in 2017.

After you went through this door, a short film that detailed how animation is created in 2017 was shown but I wasn’t really interested in that.

I suspect what everyone came for was to see the big characters from the movies.

I suspect everyone went to see these big movie characters.

That's what I came for.

That’s why I went.

There were clay models too.

There were models in resin…

...and robot's too.

…and robot’s too.

There was an interactive component to it also.

The exhibit contained an interactive component but I’m not somebody who wants to sit in front of a monitor and play with switches. I’m not eleven.

I fear I'm turning into this old man.

What scares me is I suspect I’m turning into this old man.

I got some surly teenager who was loud and kind of obnoxious to take this picture of me. When I asked for his help he turned into this really thoughtful person.

I asked a surly teenager who was loud and obnoxious to take this picture of me. When I requested his help he turned into a different person though; suddenly, he became kind and thoughtful. Maybe, it was because somebody asked him to help them? I just need the suspenders and my hair to go white and I’m there.

img_4538

Someone told me she was modeled on Edith Head.

In another room the exhibit continued but the real show was in the first room. Someone told me this character, from The Incredibles, was modeled after Edith Head. She looks like Edith Head.

img_4543

That’s real pretty.

img_4547

Downstairs there was an amazing part of America’s history on display.

img_4557

I had never seen it but since I was so close I decided to stop by.

You can walk under it.

You can walk under it. For some reason I felt more emotion walking under The Endeavor than I did watching the movie Moonlight. Go figure.

 

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://misterdangerous.wordpress.com/2017/02/27/california-science-center/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

