Survivor

The Paley Center for Media in Beverly Hills had a photo exhibit on the CBS television series Survivor. I have watched every single episode of Survivor since 2000 so I’m definitely a fan. It wasn’t the greatest exhibit that I’ve ever been to but it’s the only exhibit regarding Survivor that I’ve ever heard of or seen. Often people dismiss Survivor with “Is that still on?” Yes, it is and I’m glad Survivor is receiving some respect from the Paley Center.

Here's how they advertised the exhibit.

Here’s how they advertised the exhibit.

That's me, Guillermo Luna, in front of the Survivor logo.

That’s me, Guillermo Luna, in front of the Survivor logo.

There were lots of BIG photographs. Jeff looks good here. I want this photograph for my bedroom wall. Is that too teenage girl-ish?

There were lots of JUMBO photographs. Jeff looks good here. I want this photograph for my bedroom wall.

It seems so long ago but this was the beginning. Rudy is on the right. Richard Hatch is on the left.

It seems so long ago but this was the beginning. Rudy is on the right. Richard Hatch is on the left. Kelly is in the back.

I like this shot because I never thing that there's a crew presence but this shows there is.

I like this shot because I never think there’s a crew presence but this photo shows there is.

I've never been a fan of Rob. His win was an easy win because everyone on his tribe just rolled over and did whatever he said.

I’m not a fan of Rob. His win was an easy win because everyone on his tribe just rolled over and did whatever he said.

That's Mark Burnett next to Jeff Probst. My opinion of Burnett has changed over the years depending on how well I liked each season.

That’s Mark Burnett next to Jeff Probst. My opinion of Burnett changes depending on how well I like a particular season.

A case with torch snuffers.

A case with torch snuffers.

Not the best picture of the currently immunity idol. Entertainment Weekly's Dalton Ross says it looks like a weird Mr. Peanut. I agree. I think his hand is made out of a fork.  This item was laying on it's back in a case with skylights overhead so you'll have to excuse the reflection. Sorry.

The currently immunity idol. Entertainment Weekly’s Dalton Ross says it looks like a weird Mr. Peanut. I agree. I think his hand is made out of a fork. This item was laying on it’s back in a case with skylights overhead so you’ll have to excuse the reflection. Sorry.

Here's another view from the other side. The overhead lights are reflected onto the case. He looks even weirder at this angle.

Here’s another view from the other side. The overhead lights are reflected onto the case. He looks even weirder at this angle.

Some immunity idols from one of the cases. I wanted to hold one because they looked almost plastic.

Some immunity idols from one of the cases. I wanted to hold one because they looked plastic.

The Paley had these banners on the steps that go up to the second floor.

The Paley had these banners on the steps that went to the second floor. Escameca is the name for the Blue Collar Tribe. Everybody’s favorite player, Rodney, is a member of the Blue Collar Tribe. So is Dan who I really like.

I don't know which season these banners are from and I've watched all 30 seasons. It's a blur. A blur.

Masaya is the name for the White Collar Tribe. Max’s tribe. Sorry you went out 4th Max but you’re no Cochran. Who are they going to pixelate now?

The No Collar tribe had creepazoid Vince and Joe (that somebody on-line compared to Malcolm. Which was a bad comparison.)

The No Collar tribe had creepy Vince and Joe with the Fabio hair. Someone online claimed that Joe was the new Malcolm. I don’t think so. (Now, watch Joe win it all.)

More torch snuffers.

More torch snuffers.

One of the best things at the exhibit was a huge television that played the best of Survivor clips. It went on forever. The time when Russell played his idol for Parvatti and then it came down to a vote between him and Tyson and Tyson was evicted; When Brenda demanded at the final tribal council that Dawn take her "bridge" out just to humiliate her. When Eliza played the fake idol given to her by Jason that Ozzy had made. (It was a stick with a face on it.)

One of the most enjoyable things at the exhibit was a huge television that played “best of Survivor” clips. The clips went on for hours (?). Clips I watched included: the time Russell played his idol for Parvatti and then it came down to a vote between him and Tyson and Tyson was evicted; Brenda demanding at the final tribal council that Dawn take her “bridge” out just to humiliate her; Eliza playing the fake idol given to her by Jason that Ozzy made. (It was a stick with a face on it.); Laura and Tina fighting to get back into the game by balancing on a beam while holding up a pot with the other foot and Laura begging Tina to “give it to her” and Tina saying, “No, way sister!”; Sue calling Richard a snake and Kelly a rat; Russell trying to get back into the game after his tribe deliberately lost and Russell “getting emotional” when he didn’t succeed; Kat talking about how “fun and exciting” blindsides are and then getting blindsided; Tony building his spy shack and telling us how he’s going to control the game (when, in reality, he was pretty much alone at that point). I could have stood and watched it all day long. It was the best parts of Survivor played over and over.

The Paley Center for Media also has a library.

The Paley Center for Media also has a library.

I went upstairs to the Paley Library and watched the first episode of Survivor again. Within the first ten minutes of the show Richard was already saying he was going to win and they could write the check already.

I went upstairs to the Library and watched the first episode of Survivor again. Within the show’s first ten minutes Richard was already saying he was going to win and they should just write him the check already. I like Richard very much but sometimes I think he might benefit from some therapy.

After the first episode I watched an event filled in 2001 at the Paley Center. It was filled while season 2 was running. Jeff Probst revealed that he hadn't worked for two years prior to filming. Richard said that when he first heard, "The tribe has spoken" and "Fire represents life" and many of the other Survivor sayings, he thought, "oh, brother" and "how hokey" but now he sees that as perfect.

After the first episode I watched an event from 2001 (?) at the Paley Center. I think Mark Burnett said it was taped while season 2 was running. Jeff Probst revealed that he hadn’t worked for two years prior to filming Survivor. Richard said that when he first heard, “The tribe has spoken” and “Fire represents life” and many of the other Survivor sayings, he thought, “oh, brother” and “how hokey” but now sees them as perfect. Jeff also said when Michael Skupin fell into the fire he thought it was great for the show! Mark Burnett said something about it being terrible and being concerned with everyone’s safety but I didn’t believe him when he said it because there was a glint of happiness in his eye.

My book, The Odd Fellows, was released on December 16, 2013.

S30 must stand for Survivor 30. My book, The Odd Fellows, was released on December 16, 2013.

Published in: on March 15, 2015 at 7:52 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://misterdangerous.wordpress.com/2015/03/15/survivor/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

