Sports’ Photographs

Whenever I see a sports’ photograph I like — I buy it. Here are a few that I’ve picked up.

I couldn't pass it up. It's from the Black Panther.

I couldn’t pass it up. It’s from The Black Panther.

On the back is stamped: Hawkins Studio -- Lake City, Iowa.

On the back is stamped: Hawkins Studio — Lake City, Iowa.

He's a football player (I think) but there's no identification on the photograph.

He’s a football player (I think) but there’s no identification on the photograph.

I like the fake background. This photo must be from the 20s.

The fake background sold me on this one. It must be from the 20s.

I can't tell if these are photographs or newspaper clippings. Regardless, they're never been out of these frames.

I can’t tell if these are photographs or newspaper clippings.

There is no identification on the backs of the frames. The frames are the other reason why I bought these two pictures.

There’s no identification on the reverse. They’re great images but the frames were a contributing factor when I purchased these pictures. I like mission and arts & crafts furniture.

This is Sandow. He was one of the world's first famous bodybuilders. Usually, he's wearing less in photos so this image is tasteful as far as Sandow goes. There's a good book about him titled, Sandow the Magnificent : Eugen Sandow and the beginnings of bodybuilding by Chapman, David

This is Sandow. He was probably the world’s first famous bodybuilder. Usually, Sandow’s wearing less in photographs so this image is “tasteful.” There’s a good book about him titled, Sandow the Magnificent : Eugen Sandow and the Beginnings of Bodybuilding by David Chapman.

See, this is a more typical Sandow pose. I think he's wrapped himself in a leopard skin. This is a cigarette card so the card is 1 1/2 inches by 2 1/2 inches.

See, this is a more typical Sandow pose. He’s wrapped himself in a leopard skin!? Well, he was in show business. This is a cigarette card so the card is 1 1/2 inches by 2 1/2 inches.

On the back of the card it's stamped: SHORTY GAMBLES GUN STORE BURLINGTON, IOWA WASHINGTON STREET JOHN M. GAMBLE, Owner

On the back of the card it’s stamped:                               SHORTY GAMBLES GUN STORE
BURLINGTON, IOWA
WASHINGTON STREET
JOHN M. GAMBLE, Owner

I found this boxer recently. There is no identification on the back of the photo but I think the photo is circa 1915.

I found this boxer recently. There is no identification on the back of the photo but I think the photo is circa 1915.

I bought this at a paper and postcard show in Glendale. The dealer was from Seattle and said when he had this in his store one of his patrons recognized the wrestler. I'm guessing this wrestler is from the Pacific northwest.

I bought this at a “paper and postcard” show in Glendale, California. The dealer was from Seattle and said when he had this hanging in his store one of his patrons recognized the wrestler. I’m guessing this wrestler was from the Pacific northwest. When I showed this to one of my co-workers he said. “He looks like he should be in a gladiator movie.”

There was a lot of information on the back of this photo. The boxers name is James "Mutt" Goodwin. The photo was taken by Commercial Studios Photographers on November 6, 1955. The studio was on Franklin Street in Oakland, California. According to Box Rec, Goodwin was born on July 16, 1938. He was a middle weight. He lived in Richmond, CA. He was born in New Orleans and his record was: won 19 (KO 5), lost 5 (KO 0), draws 3.

There was a lot of information on the back of this photo. The boxer’s name is James “Mutt” Goodwin. The photo was taken by Commercial Studio Photographers on November 6, 1955. The studio was on Franklin Street in Oakland, California. According to Box Rec, Goodwin was born on July 16, 1938. He was a middle weight. He lived in Richmond, CA. He was born in New Orleans and his record was: won 19 (KO 5), lost 5 (KO 0), draws 3.

His name, Larry Hine, is written on the back. The band-aid on the inner thigh is what sold me.

His name, Larry Hine, is written on the back. The band-aid on the inner thigh is what sold me.

He looks like he's in high school. His name is down between his feet.

He looks like he’s in high school. His name is down between his feet.

My book, The Odd Fellows, was released on December 16, 2013.

My book, The Odd Fellows, was released on December 16, 2013.

Published in: on February 25, 2014 at 8:38 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://misterdangerous.wordpress.com/2014/02/25/sports-photographs/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Thankѕ verʏ nice blog!


Leave a Reply

