Zepplins and Airships

I’ve always liked Airships and Zepplins. I find them strange and somewhat scary but I really like them.

xxx

The Story of the Airship was written by Hugh Allen. This is the sixth edition. Editions were published from 1925 forward as annual reference books by The Goodyear Company.

This is the seventh edition.

This is the seventh edition.

It's the Akron.

It’s the Akron. The Akron crashed over the coast of New Jersey in April of 1933.

I don't know what the German says but I like it because it looks like a painting.

I don’t know what the German script says but I like the image because it looks like a painting.

I know what this says. When I bought it the dealer said it means, "To England."

I know what this says. When I bought it the dealer said it means, “To England.” England was bombed by Zepplins in World War I.

Zepplin. He was well known enough to be put on a postcard.

Count Ferdinand von Zepplin. He was well known and liked enough to be put on a postcard.

It's the R-34.

It’s the R-34.

Artwork designed by Ted Bedell of Lakewood, N. J.

Artwork designed by Ted Bedell of Lakewood, N. J.

It's the first story in this 1925 issue of the National Geographic. It's a really long article and it's fantastic that Junius B. Wood and Natioanl Geographic documented the Shenandoah.

The first story in this 1925 issue of the National Geographic is about the Shenandoah. It’s a  long article (47 pages) and it’s fantastic that Junius B. Wood and National Geographic documented the Shenandoah so thoroughly.

This story is filled with numerous photographs but I like this chart the best.

This story is filled with numerous photographs but I like this graphic the best.

I found this image in a book called, California Crazy by Jim Heimann and Rip Georges. It's a fun book with lots of great photos. The Zep Diner was located at 515 West Florence Avenue in Los Angeles.

I found this image in a book called, California Crazy: Roadside Vernacular Architecture by Jim Heimann and Rip Georges. It’s a fun book with lots of great photos. The Zep Diner was located at 515 West Florence Avenue in Los Angeles.

I found this postcard and the following two over at my friend Mark’s house.

That looks really creaky. You wouldn’t get me up in that.

My book, The Odd Fellows, was published on December 16, 2013.

My book, The Odd Fellows, was published on December 16, 2013.

 

Published in: on February 18, 2013 at 7:35 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://misterdangerous.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/zepplins/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

